Julie and Julia and Blogs

Food

julie_julia_together

I was finally able to see the movie Julie and Julia the other day. Julie and Julia is a movie about the life of Julia Child (played by Meryl Streep), who brought French cooking to American homes through cookbooks and TV shows, and Julie Powell (played by Amy Adams) a blogger who cooked her way through Julia Child’s “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” in one year.

I’m not going to go into the life of Julia Child, you can read about her on Wikipedia, or Julie Powell either, though her blog, The Julie/Julia Project can still be found on Salon.com if you want to read the full story that was only glossed on in the movie.

What I what to mention in this post is how my life was affected by Julia Child.

I grew up watching Julia Child on television along with Graham Kerr, the Galloping Gourmet, and Justin Wilson (years later), the Cajun cook. This was many, many years before The Food Network on PBS, which was the only place to find cooking shows at the time. Kerr and Wilson never had the formal training that Julia did, but what they did have was the ability to connect with people as on-air personalities.

Watching their shows gave me the confidence to say, “Hey, I can do that”, because they made it look so easy and explained every step. And, because of that, I can cook whatever I want whenever I want and however I want without relying on anyone else to do it for me.

After watching the movie I ran home to make the first dish I learned from Julia, the French omelet. You can watch Julia make one here:

And here’s the one I made. That you Julia.
french_omelet-s

~ by JR Prospal on 19 September 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
